Jaime Frutos Morales's blog

11/01/2007

My first internet domain

Filed under: SysAdmin — acidborg @ 23:23

I know this isn’t new nor geekish, but I haven’t used it until yesterday and I like it so much 😉 . I have always wanted to be able to access my own computer when I’m not at home. In GNU/Linux (and I think that in Windows too but I haven’t test it yet) this is a very easy task.

You have to register in one of the web pages which provides dynamic DNS services for free. I have chosen DynDNS because there are many available GNU/Linux compatible clients.

Then you just have to install a client for your dynamic DNS service. I have installed ddclient because it’s the one DynDNS recommends for GNU/Linux. I had to change one line in the configuration file in order to make the client know that I’m behind a router at home. The configuration file may be something like this:

pid=/var/run/ddclient.pid
protocol=dyndns2
use=web
server=members.dyndns.org
login=(your login)
password=(your password)
(your own domain)

After that, install a SSH server (or whichever server you want to run at home) and make sure that your servers and the ddclient are launched at boot time.

Finally, use NAT to redirect connections from the Internet to your own computer if you’re behind a router and enjoy your brand new free domain!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

