Jaime Frutos Morales's blog

13/02/2007

Porting isn’t trivial

Filed under: GNOME — acidborg @ 22:26

I have been trying to port Gossip to the Maemo platform, but maybe this port will have to wait until Gtk 2.10 and Glib 2.12 are ported to the Maemo platform because Gossip has hard dependencies on these two libraries.

Loudmouth (Jabber library used by Gossip) is already ported to Maemo and porting libgossip is trivial, but the rest of code can’t be ported without an almost rewrite of the code so, for now, I’ll wait and see what happens with the GTK 2.10 and Glib 2.12 porting.

On the other hand, I’ve made some progress with Arousa, although I haven’t publish any code yet. I’ve been thinking about using a pickle implementation or a SQLite one, but finally I’ve decided to use the SQLite implementation because gtk.Treeview can’t be pickled directly and because the SQLite implementation allows to view and query Arosa’s dictionaries from outside of Arousa.

Blog at WordPress.com.

